Home Events and Ticketing About the Chorale History People Contact Us

Press Coverage


Previous Concerts

arrow.jpg   Former Directors

Tour History

In memoriam

Dr. Harrell C. Lucky
Artistic Director 1997-2003

HarrellLucky.jpgCurrently: Chairman of the Department of Music and Teaching Professor of Choral Music and Music History, Eastfield Community College, Mesquite, Texas Dr. Lucky has been head of Choral Studies at Eastfield College since 1974. After receiving his Doctorate in Composition from the School of Church Music, Southwestern Baptist Seminary, he studied in Vienna under Gunther Theuring and Ferdinand Grossman, where he was chosen for Special Studies with the Vienna State Opera Orchestra. A specialist in large works for chorus and orchestra and a veteran of dozens of major performances with the Eastfield College Chorus, the Preston Hollow Masterworks Chorus, and the Irving Chorale, Dr. Lucky is known as a powerful and expressive interpreter of the choral repertoire. His compositions for chorus have been published by Lawson-Gould Music Co. of New York, Abingdon Press and Augsburg Press. He was commissioned by the Republican National Committee to compose a major work for chorus and orchestra for the 1984 Presidential Concert in Dallas, Texas.

Jim Moore
Artistic Director 1987-1997

JimMoore.jpgJim Moore, founder of the Irving Chorale and a native of Gainesville, Texas, has been an Irving resident since 1965. Mr. Moore earned degrees from East Texas Baptist University and North Texas State University (now known as the University of North Texas). He taught at Sherman High School, served as director of the Irving High School choir for twelve years, is a former judge of the University Interscholastic League choir competitions, is former director of the Irving Civic Chorus, is former music director at First Baptist Church of Irving, is former music director for Birdville Independent School District, and is a former professor of music at East Texas Baptist University. Mr. Moore served on the Officers and Directors of the Texas Chorale Directors Association. Moore is former president of the Texas Music Educators Association, the Southwest Division of the American Choral Directors Association, and the Texas Music Adjudicators Association.
Irving Chorale. All Rights Reserved.